Are we allowed to be funny right now?

My Facebook news feed is just jam-packed with stories and opinions about what’s happening in Baltimore right now. And I have this really funny thing that I want to say, but … I just don’t think it’s the right time. I feel like if I post it, some bitch I went to high school with is going to give me my ass.

Is there a wrong time for humor? Probably. But it’s my defense mechanism, so it’s with me at all times, ready to be used.

Anyway, I could really do with some etiquette around when it is ok to be funny when everyone else is losing their damn minds about something going on in the world. I don’t want to appear insensitive. I usually don’t engage with political or social issues, because I recognize the fact that I don’t know the big picture of some of these issues, and that there is always someone who wants to yell louder and be right-er and will go to lengths to squash down others’ opinions in favor of their own.

So I’d rather just make people laugh.

Are you guys ok with that?

Leave a Reply

